Our Team

Our Team 2017-02-17T13:01:23+00:00

Leadership Team

Dana Ball
Executive Director and Co-founder T1D Exchange, CEO, Unitio

Dana Ball has been a patient advocate for 30 years and spent the past 13 years as a nonprofit executive driving innovative programs in type 1 diabetes (T1D). Before becoming CEO and Founder of Unitio and Executive Director of T1D Exchange, Dana served as Program Director for the T1D program at the Leona M. and Harry B. Helmsley Charitable Trust where he co-founded the Exchange. He also developed long-term strategies and created initiatives that funded novel approaches in T1D research, technology, systems, and outreach. Previous to that, Dana served as the Executive Director of the Iacocca Foundation, where he oversaw all aspects of the family’s philanthropic activities including the development of a multimillion-dollar fundraising campaign to advance the field of beta cell regeneration. Programs at The Iacocca Foundation included initiatives to support research and development to advance the understanding of T1D in humans and support new clinical interventions.

Roy Beck, M.D., Ph.D.
Director, T1D Exchange Clinic Coordinating Center, Executive Director, Jaeb Center for Health Research

Dr. Beck, a physician and epidemiologist, is the director of the Jaeb Center for Health Research in Tampa, FL. In the midst of his more than 25 years’ experience directing and coordinating multi-center clinical trials, type 1 diabetes became a major focus of his research after one of his children developed T1D, starting with the Diabetes Research in Children Network (DirecNet). In addition he has directed the coordinating center for the JDRF Continuous Glucose Monitoring trials and the JDRF Artificial Pancreas Project as well as two type 1 diabetes registries: the Pediatric Diabetes Consortium and the T1D Exchange, funded by the Leona M. and Harry B. Helmsley Charitable Trust. Dr. Beck has been an author or co-author of more than 200 manuscripts in scientific journals. He has been a member of numerous committees of the National Institutes of Health and has served on several journal editorial boards.

Henry Anhalt, DO, Chief Medical Officer
Henry Anhalt, DO, is a renowned pediatric endocrinologist with deep clinical and industry experience related to type 1 diabetes. As Chief Medical Officer for T1D Exchange, a nonprofit organization that has created a new paradigm fostering collaboration among patients, physicians, researchers and industry to speed discovery of better therapies for type 1 diabetes, Henry brings a strategic focus on initiatives that will transform clinical care for patients, drive and support therapeutic advances and ensure patients are at the center of research. Previously, Henry served in multiple key senior executive roles in the medical industry. Most recently, he was senior medical director, medical diabetes at Sanofi. He has led pediatric endocrinology divisions at Saint Barnabas Health Care System, Children’s Hospital at Maimonides Medical Center and The Brooklyn Hospital Center. Anhalt was also program director for the SUNY Downstate pediatric endocrinology fellowship training program. He has held other academic appointments at New York University School of Medicine, and the New York College of Osteopathic Medicine. He currently maintains a private practice treating pediatric patients with type 1 diabetes.

Brian Becker
Senior Product Manager

Amy Bevan
Communications and Community Engagement Coordinator

Elizabeth Bevilacqua
Partners and Program Manager

Jeoffrey Bispham
Research Manager

Alyssa Cabrera
Quality Improvement Coordinator

Sally Chege
Research Analyst

Jason Costa
Director of Finance and Operations

Anna Floreen
Advancement Outreach Manager

Christine Frost
Marketing and Communications Manager

Colleen Garey
Research Analyst

Erin Gilbert
Chief Advancement Officer

Tyler Greenberg
Accounting Coordinator

Aileen Hickey
Research Manager

Robin Lord
Marketing Project Manager

Daniel Nolan
Software Developer

Kara Page
Biobank Project Manager

Melissa Papayannis
Advancement Associate

Jill Petrie
Director of Communications and Community Relations

Alex Rosenblatt
Administrative Associate

George Serbedzija
Director of Business Development

Avni Shah
Quality Improvement Medical Advisor

Ean Towsner
Accounting Coordinator

Wendy Wolf
Director of Unitio Biobank


Claire Boyle

Crystal Connor

Stephanie DuBose

Nicole Foster

Robin Gal

Russell Guzzetta
Web Developer

Karalyn Hadley
Research Operations Manager

Craig Kollman
Director of Biostatistics

Kate Longergan
Administrative Assistant

David McNabb
Data Manager

Kellee Miller

Nicole Reese
Database Manager

Jonathan Rohena
Research Assistant

Jeffrey Saunders
Statistician Assistant/Manuscript Manager

Elizabeth Smith
Protocol Monitor

Heidi Strayer
Senior Web Developer

Ruth Thomas
Research Assistant

Alandra Verdejo
Protocol Manager

Mengdi Wu